Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Leaders who defied ODM six piece wave in Nyanza to clinch their seats

On August 9th Kenyans woke up to elect new leaders.

Even as individuals continue to await the presidential results, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has announced various winners in other elective seats.

Nyanza region which is always considered an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) zone has seen various leaders defy the party’s wave to clinch their seats.

David Ochieng

David Ochieng (photo courtesy)

In Siaya county David Ochieng retained his Ugenya MP seat beating ODM’s Daniel Odhiambo.

Ochieng garnered 25,520 votes while Odhiambo got 22,928 votes.

Ochieng contested on a Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) party.

He formed the party after falling out with Raila Odinga’s ODM in 2017.

Shakeel Shabbir

Shakeel Shabir

In Kisumu East Shakeel Shabbir retained his seat on an independent ticket for the second time to get his fourth term in office.

He defeated ODM’s Nicholas Oricho for the second time in a row.

Shakeel won the seat with 35,704 while Oricho obtained 28,491 votes.

He is the only MP from Nyanza who will remain in Parliament among those elected in 2007.

Fatuma Mohamed

Fatuma Mohammed

In Migori Fatuma Mohamed successfully clinched the Migori Woman Representative seat.

She opted to run as an independent candidate after she lost in the ODM primaries and her appeal was turned down.

Mohamed garnered 154,538 votes against ODM’s Dennitah Ghati who got 117,597 votes.

Mohamed contested and failed in 2013 and 2017.

Austine Ogalo
Lake Region Bulletin is your one stop multi-media platform for news and stories from the Lake Region counties of Kisumu, Siaya, Homabay ,Migori, Siaya, Kissi,Nyamira, Vihiga, Kakamega, Busia, Bungoma, Trans Nzoia, Nandi, Kericho and Bomet

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News