I will strengthen LREB says Nyong’o as he takes over from Oparanya as new Chairperson


Share post:

Kisumu Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o is the new Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB) Chairperson.

Nyong’o takes over from former Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

The Bloc’s leadership conducted its elections at the 10th LREB Summit held in Kisumu on 21st November.

I feel humbled by the confidence and trust you have bestowed on me. I promise to reciprocate by working closely with you, other stakeholders, and partners

Governor Nyong’o

In his acceptance speech, Nyong’o said his leadership will work to strengthen LREB and help it achieve the objectives for which it was formed.

“I feel humbled by the confidence and trust you have bestowed on me. I promise to reciprocate by working closely with you, other stakeholders, and partners,” he said.

He further expressed gratitude to the leadership for bestowing him the honour to take the Bloc to another level.

He added: “I wish to sincerely thank my colleague governors for electing me as the new Lake Region Economic Bloc Chairman.”


The Governor applauded his predecessor Wycliffe Oparanya for successfully guiding the bloc since its inception.

Oparanya paid a tribute to the founding Governors of the LREB vision as he handed over the instruments of power to the incoming leadership.

Governor Kenneth Lusaka of Bungoma was also elected the Vice Chair to succeed former Kisii Governor James Ongwae.

The Summit is an annual high level meeting providing Bloc’s leadership and development partners opportunity discuss ways of energising and coordinating the economic vision of the 14 Lake Basin counties.

During the two day summit, the Bloc affirmed their commitment to the vision of founding principles.

A number of partnerships were proposed for implementation some of which are ongoing such as the Zipline Drone project in Kisumu and the proposed Solar project on Lake Kanyaboli in Siaya County in partnership with Procorp Enertech (P) Ltd company from India.

Also present were Kisii Governor Simba Arati, James Orengo (Siaya), Amos Kimumi (Nyamira), Gladys Wanga (Homabay), Ochilo Ayako (Migori), George Natembeya (Trans Nzoia), Paul Otuoma (Busia), Stephen Sang (Nandi) and Fernandes Baraza (Kakamega).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

How Raila’s bid for top AU job is realigning Kenya’s political landscape

Opposition leader Raila Odinga’s bid for the African Union (AU) Commission chairperson has caused a major shift in...

Journalists develop curriculum on Climate Change Reporting

Journalists in Kenya have developed a curriculum to train reporters on how to cover Climate Change issues. The Kenya...

MESHA transforming newsrooms through Mobile Journalism mentorship

Twenty-three more journalists have benefited from Mobile Journalism skilling project by the Media for Environment, Science, Health and...

Media best placed to tame vaccine hesitancy in Kenya, experts say

Misinformation remains one of the main factors contributing to vaccine hesitancy in Kenya. Stakeholders in the health sector say...