Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Congress of African Journalists sets up office in Kenya

Congress of African Journalists (CAJ) has attained legal status after officially being registered under Kenyan laws.

The Congress will have its continental headquarters set in Nairobi. 


CAJ Governing Council announced this during a virtual meeting held on Wednesday September 21, 2022  saying the development gives it impetus in tackling journalists’ challenges in Africa. 

The organization launched in June 2020 seeks to address challenges affecting journalists in the course of their work with regards to press freedom, safety and access to information.

We invite journalists through their unions and associations, and partners to work with us in these endeavors

Christopher Isiguzo

The Council named Christopher Isiguzo from Nigeria as the new president, to replace the founding president Alexandre Niyungeko who stepped down.

Speaking during the meeting, Isiguzo said the development will help CAJ to move forward in tackling challenges facing journalists in the continent.

“We will move with speed to discharge our mandate of addressing problems facing journalists in Africa,” noted the President.

The Council further endorsed the forums on the UN Plan of Action on the Safety of Journalists (UNPA) led by UNESCO, saying they will contribute to improved efforts in addressing the safety of journalists in the continent. 

Isuguzo restated their commitment to tackling challenges facing journalists saying they will soon roll out a range of activities aimed at addressing them.

He added: “We invite journalists through their unions and associations, and partners to work with us in these endeavors.”

CAJ will take up the mandate of protecting journalists and defending freedom of expression.

This is in accordance with the laid down  Declaration of Principles of Freedom of Expression and Access to Information in Africa.

Council Members

The Governing council has representation from Burundi, Kenya, Senegal, Tanzania, Cote d’Ivoire, Swaziland, Guinea-Bissau, Somalia, Seychelles and Malawi.

William Oloo of Kenya Correspondents Association(KCA) remains the Secretary and a member of the Council.

Other members of the Governing Council include  Ibrahima Ndiaye-Senegal, Iddah Francis-Tanzania, Indira Correia Balde-Guinea – Bissau, Syabonga Dlamini-Swaziland, Abdalle Mumin-Somalia, Patsy Athanase-Seychelles and Emmanuel Chibwana-Malawi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News